Extreme Couponing vs Hoarding??

Let me start of by saying I live without cable or dish television but something caught my eye on Yahoo News that I had to check out. I had never even heard of TLC’s show “Extreme Couponing” until today and I am assuming that the producers probably pay these women pretty good to be on the show but I am appalled.

I’m not upset/jealous of the amount of money saved – like an “I wish I could do that” kind of thing. What bothers me about this clip/show is how it is encouraging hoarding behavior in the people who do this extreme couponing! In the clip I watched, the woman bought 1900.00 worth of groceries for 103.00. I don’t know where she gets all her coupons but I’m wondering if it’s from one of those coupon sites where you pay them to clip what you need and they ship you the coupons. If so, this means she spent, most likely, quite a bit of money just to get the coupons (or the show did. . . ). And no one that I know of needs $1900 worth of groceries at any given point in time- unless they are buying for the local elementary school or something.

This show is encouraging people hoard!! I am all for using coupons to save money on the things my family NEEDS and I am also all for buying ahead and storing foods and other grocery items for future use that I KNOW my family will use/eat. BUT there is a huge difference between what I and many other moms are doing and what this show is preaching to it’s viewers.

Perhaps it really is just a challenge or a game kind of approach that the show has, I really don’t know. But, I was not impressed at all.

Please, please, please don’t buy more than you need just because it’s on sale or you have a coupon. It’s not good stewardship of the money God provided for you. . . period.

End of soap box. . .

Amanda

God is good- all the time. . . . 40.gif

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

