The Gift

In today’s “Girlfriends in God” devotional they talked about the gift of the Magi and how they traveled for a very long time, following that star, to come and worship the King of the Jews (based on Matt 2:1) With this, they shared a story of a little boy who, after hearing about the Magi from his teacher, took a long walk to find her a beautiful sea shell. One sentance really stuck out for me-

The real gift wasn’t the shell; it was the sacrifice he had to make to give it. They compared this to the sacrifice the magi must have made to share their gifts as well.

This got me thinking about my own life and how, so many times, I use the gifts God gave me to do the things that I enjoy. It made me think and wonder- Do I ever make sacrifices in order to use my gifts and worship the King? or- Do I only worship Jesus conveniently? Sure, some people might see the things I do with my life as great ways to worship and use my talents but in my own heart do I see these things as sacrifices or fun? Yes, it can be both but only I and God know for sure.

So over these next few weeks I will be baking goodies for neighbors, delivering packages to those in need, helping the children at church have a wonderfully chaotic program, and trying my best to find the alto part in O Holy Night. But I will also be quietly working on my goals to use the self-discipline that God gave to me to make myself a more beautiful temple for God to live in. That is my true sacrifice! Self discipline is where I throw in the towel so quickly! Imagine what would have happened if the Magi had decided after a day or so that the star wasn’t working for them and they needed a person to guide them or even worse they gave up all together? They didn’t though- they pressed on, knowing that eventually they would get to worship the King of the Jews.

I’m pressing on too so I can give an even better gift to the King! What sacrifice are you going to make in order to worship your King in a better more personal way?

Amanda

God is good- all the time. . . . 40.gif

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

