Living in the Present

Below you will see the lyrics to a wonderful song by Natalie Grant.  It’s upbeat tempo and dance kind of feel makes me often forget what I’m really singing as I sing along with Natalie each time I hear it.  I’m not for sure, but I believe it is based on the first chapter in the book of Ephesians where it speaks of what happens in salvation.  Salvation is not an ongoing process.  When you accept Christ as your saviour, it’s done- signed, sealed, delivered!  It doesn’t mean that you are done growing in Him or need not improve your relationship with Him but it means that you are one of His for now and forever.  His loving arm of protection is around you 24/7.  There is no reason for anxiety, worry, looking at the past (or future).  There is today.  Today is God’s day, He is in control of our lives from yesterday, to today, and for tomorrow.  We don’t need to worry! 

If you are a worrier like me, I pray that you will ask God for help as I do nearly every day.  Anxiety is a difficult a thing and although it is part of me, I know that it is not God’s part of me.  God has control.  Don’t feel like that kind of control is supposed to hinder you-  it’s like gravity.  I know I’m not going to float into outerspace today because gravity is in control.  I also know that gravity will not pin to me the ground either. 

Now, join me in living for today and know that it’s a struggle for me not to worry just as it might be for you but read the song’s lyrics below and read them as if they are your prayer.  I know those lyrics are my prayer. . .. .

Natalie Grant Lyrics

I Live For Today


 
Sittin’ in my room staring at the wall
Wonderin’ about the meaning of it all
Why is it this thing called life
Has got me goin’ crazy
So I open up your word and let it speak to me
The purpose and the plan that you’ve designed
Is clear to see, and I believe

Chorus:
I’m gonna live for today
I’m gonna follow in your way
I’m gonna let my little light shine
Like there’s no tomorrow
I won’t worry about the past
I know my future is intact
So I’ll choose to live my life one way
I’m gonna live it for today

You told me not to worry
About what lies ahead
So I am gonna focus on today instead
Making every moment count and counting
Every single blessing
I’m gonna set my mind on the
Here and the Now
This is what I want my life to be about
And this is How…

Chorus:
I’m gonna live for today
I’m gonna follow in your way
I’m gonna let my little light shine
Like there’s no tomorrow
I won’t worry about the past
I know my future is intact
So I’ll choose to live my life one way
I’m gonna live it for today

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions, Personal Growth

Leave a Reply

