Me and my BIG mouth. . . .

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a BIG mouth! But in this instance I’m speaking of all of our big mouths and not just my own. . . . awe. . . you were hoping for one big honking story weren’t you?!!!!!

James 3 (quoted and paraphrased portions of the chapter) says this:
Dear brothers and sisters, not many of you should become teachers in the church, for we who teach will be judged by God with greater strictness. We all make mistakes, but those who control their tongues can also control themselves in every other way. . .. . the tongue is a small thing, but what enormous damage it can do. . . . . . People can tame all kinds of animals but no one can tame the tongue . . . .sometimes it praises our Lord and sometimes it breaks out into curses against others. . . . blessings and curses from the same mouth is not right! You can’t draw fresh water from a salty pool.

Now think about that last sentance. . . . if you mix salt water and fresh water together what do you get? Salt water slightly watered down but it’s still salty. . . . .if you mix blessings and curses what do you get? Hmmmmmm? Got ya’ thinkin didn’t I!!!! (got me thinking too! LOL)

Lord, I ask you today to keep one hand on my shoulder and one hand over my BIG mouth! Thank you Jesus!

-amen

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

