What acts of service can do for you!

I have had a bad week (well, except the cute little bunny and the time to visit with the girlfriends yesterday) and I’m just plain grouchy.  I drug myself out of bed this morning to put together the thank you platters that the boys will be delivering to all their 4-H buyers.  9 platters – one to a large company, 3 to medium sized business’s, 1 to a small business, and 4 to individual families. (not that you really care for the details I’m sure. . . .lol)  Even though when it comes down to it, I am extremely grateful to these people for supporting my kids (and their college funds), I have not been feeling very grateful given all the trying times this week and the entire summer has had for our family. 

Something began to happen while I put cookies on plates and divided up candy and tea bags.  The muscles in my face began to soften and relax and before I knew it, the music on the radio became noticeable and enjoyable!  All of the sudden my brain remembered that Sunday our church is going to take dinner to the homeless shelter and have a meal with the folks living there.  Immediately following that thought, I told myself that I needed to call the pastor’s wife and see what else was needed. 

I have started feeling less grouchy and more grateful!  The Message Bible interprets Galatians 5: 13-15 as:

It is absolutely clear that God has called you to a free life.  Just make sure that you don’t use this freedom as an excuse to do whatever you want to do and destroy your freedom.  Rather, use your freedom to serve on another in love; that’s how freedom grows.  For everything we know about God’s Word is summed up in a single sentence:  Love others as you love yourself.  That’s an act of true freedom.  If you bite and ravage each other, watch out- in no time at all you will be annihilating each other and where will your precious freedom be then?

Serving others is the way to freedom!  The opposite of freedom is bondage or prison.  Being all grouchy about things literally had me in my own self-made prison.  SELF-MADE:  made by me.  Why would anyone want to do that to themselves?

Galatians 5: 16 says: My counsel is this: Live freely, animated, and motivated by God’s Spirit.  Then you won’t feed the compulsions of selfishness.

Today, ask God to close the mouth inside you that wants you to be selfish and open the mouth that can only be fed by Him.  He will show you ways to serve and in return, God’s spirit will grow inside you and bring  joy and freedom!

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

