Injustice

I have been feeling quite persecuted lately.  My brain has been swirling with “people are so stupid”, “heads should roll”, and the like. . . .  Because of this recent trial that has drug itself into a 6 week nightmare that could perhaps hang on to me with a lifetime chip on my shoulder, I’ve been unable to get my life into focus lately.  So, I decided that I needed to figure out the right thing to do instead of letting this swirl around on the inside like an acidic witches brew set out to destroy me.   I decided to look to God’s word for answers. . . . .(a great big huge DUH!!!!!!  Why do we humans wait until things are really really yucky before remembering to look in God’s word???????)

Anyway, a very wise man named Wayne encouraged my husband and I to purchase The New Living Translation of the Bible that is titled, The Book.  In the very front of The Book is a wonderful section the translators included of common things people look to the Bible for help with- things like worry, friendship, love, direction, marriage, children, etc and. . . . . . . .  injustice.

I Peter 3:16-18 and I Peter 5:10-11

But you must do this in a gentle and respectful way.  Keep your conscience clear.  Then if people speak evil against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.  Remember, it is better to suffer for doing good, if that is what God wants, than to suffer for doing wrong!  Christ suffered when he died for our sins once for all time.  He never sinned, but he died for sinners that he might bring us safely home to God.  He suffered physical death, but he was raised to life in the Spirit.  In His kindness, God called you to his eternal glory by means of Jesus Christ.  After you have suffered a little while,  he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.  All power is his forever and ever.  Amen.

Wowzers!  Talk about the log in my eye!!!  I’ve been so focused on how ungodly I was/am being treated that I totally lost sight of how ungodly my anger toward my persecuters truly is!  My brain will stop swirling and I will regain my focus if I handle this situation respectfully and best of all, God has promised to restore, support, and strengthen me for handling it the right way! 

WWJD?

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

