God is Love

God is love. . . . . . .how profound. . . .  We have been taught this since we were babies.  But do we truly know/understand what it means?  I John 4:16-19 say this:

We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in him.  God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them.  And as we live in God, our love grows more perfect.  So we will not be afraid on the day of judgement, but we can face him with confidence because we are like Christ here in this world.  Such love has no fear because perfect love expels all fear.  If we are afraid, it is for fear of judgement, and this shows that his love has not been perfected in us.  We love each other as a result of his loving us first.

I’ve been reading the book, Beauty for Ashes by Joyce Meyer.  Those of you who are familiar with this book are now thinking that I have been abused.  I have not.  (There aren’t you relieved?)  But I have been handed many tough lots in life, things that have hurt my soul.  I found the book in a garage sale “quarter” box and wondered if perhaps I could gain some insight into myself by reading a book about emotional healing.  Emotional healing is not just for the abused- any hurt in your life needs emotional healing.

Anyway,  I’ve been reading it while my boys take swim lessons so it’s out in the car but one thing that caught my eye in yesterday’s pages was this. . . . .

GOD IS LOVE

Joyce describes this short sentance, and I’m paraphrasing, in a way that I had not comprehended before yesterday.  She said that God IS love.  God does not act out love, or behave lovingly- He has no other choice but to BE love.  Because He IS what love is, His love for us can NOT be conditional.  His love is not for just those who qualify or behave just perfect.  We cannot do, feel, say, or act in a way that would turn God’s love away from us.  It is impossible to be, act, feel, or say anything that would make God not love us.  He IS love.  His love is not a response to something we do or say.  His love is not determined by how much we do for him or act like him.  His love is perfect and cannot be taken from us because He IS that love.

Joyce does go on to say that we can/do things that disappoint God and He will, in turn, convict us about our behavior.  But our behaviors do not determine the amount of love He gives.  His love is bigger and greater than anything any of us could do or go through.

Today, when you make a mistake in life or find yourself being critical of yourself and feeling unworthy- find a mirror.  Look into it and say _________(your name), God loves you!  (this is Joyce Meyer’s idea and I found it wonderful!)

Dear Heavenly Father- Thank you for your love that we can do nothing to take away from us.  Thank You.  Today, Lord, please pay close attention to those readers of my blog who need to understand more about your love.  Make my words be understood in the exact way that You need them to be.  If these words help one hurting person experience just a small amount of your love today, my own struggles will be worth it.  Give love and relief to all of us, Lord.  I thank you and praise you!  In your name, Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

