The Aroma of Christ

My fellow Cub Scout mom and wife to #3″s  leader,  has a blog called http://beautiful2god.blogspot.com and another one http://8-muddyboots.blogspot.com . She is a former homeschooler (switched to public last year), coupon fanatic who has had her “couponing skills” documented in the local paper, and truly beautiful.  She’s like us!  Well, except she’s soooooooo darn cute and sweet- and she legitimately is!  Not that we aren’t but if any of us try to be cute and sweet, people ask us what we’re up to. Her, well. . . . people don’t ask what she’s up to because they know. . . .she’s just sweet!  LOL
 
Anyway- here is a devotion from her for today.  If you like it, take some time to glance around her sites- she’ll be glad you stopped by!
 
2Corin. 2:15 “For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing…”

 
Aroma is defined in a couple ways. Here is one I found, and thought appropriate. Aroma- a distinctive odor that is pleasant .

 

 
If we are to be an “aroma” for Christ, are we over the top? Are we in people’s faces? Are we pointing fingers? Or do we keep secret what we know? DO we just hope that people will notice Christ in us? The “aroma” is distinctive. That means people will take notice, like there is “just something about them!”. And it is “pleasant”- pleasing, agreeable, or enjoyable; giving pleasure.

 

 
Are we enjoyable? DO we give others pleasure by just being around them?

 

 
As a woman, we need to restrain those lips (Prov. 10:19), we need to be ready with a good word (Prov. 12:25) and a wise tongue (Prov. 12:18). We need to keep our answers soft (Prov. 15:1) and our words sweet (Prov. 16:21, 24). Remember~ idol chatter, leads to poverty (Prov. 14:23). SO keep busy doing the Lord’s will!

 

 
All of these verses and more, I have highlighted in my Bible in pink. Everything in Pink in my Bible is for me, as a woman. So then, when I flip through, I can be reminded to look at each of those words and be reminded what kind of Aroma I am to be as a woman.

Dear Heavenly Father- Thank you for S!  Although I don’t know her well, yet- I do know that You eminate from the very soul of her being and I want to be like that!  Help all of us ladies reading today to give off Your Aroma.  We want to keep people guessing about why we do what we do and why we say what we say and about what that something they can’t put their finger on is.  I want to be beautiful in Your eyes.  I want to be pleasing to You!  I want people who meet me to say they can tell I am Your child.  Thank you Jesus!  In your name, Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

