Thank God for Being a Friend

Speaking of taking some time. . . . take time and read the entire chapter of Psalms 37.  This is one of those chapters where the Message Bible really makes it interesting. . . .
 
Verse 5-7 Open up before God, keep nothing back; he’ll do whatever needs to be done; He’ll validate your life in the clear light of day and stamp you with approval at high noon.  Quiet down before God, be prayerful before him.  don’t bother with those who climb the ladder, who elbow their way to the top.
 
Verse 27-28  Turn your back on evil, work for the good and don’t quit.  God loves this kind of thing, never turns away from his friends.
 
I just love how “in your face” Peterson interprets things!   God will validate us!  God gives us His stamp of approval!  Work for good because God loves that kind of thing!  God never turns his back on his friends!  What a positive way to start the day!
 
Dear heavenly Father-  Thank you for my Uncle R and Aunt A who gave us a Bible for a wedding gift.  A Bible that has the best concordance I have ever had! ( New Scofield Study Bible) With that concordance, I am able to find in your word exactly what I need for the day!  Thank you!  Thank you for King David!  When I read his words, I often forget that he had shortcomings just like me!  Different shortcomings, but shortcomings just the same.  His words speak right from his heart and are sooooo helpful in encouraging me to press on.  Thank you for being my friend, my cheerleader, my source of comfort and encouragement!  Thank you for validating me!  I pray that you will bless all of us reading this today and encourage us to stick close to your word!  Thank you, Jesus! -amen
Leave a comment

Filed under devotions

Leave a Reply

