Smore’s

Proverbs 31:10-31 is titled Hymn to a Good Wife.  Now, don’t go throwing up on me, ladies!   This will not be a badgering session of pointing out everything we (I) have screwed up with the “virtuous wife” resume. . . . Really!  If you have time, read these verses and thank God for the abilities in them that you already have and ask him to help you with the ones he points out to you as things to improve upon.  Obsessing over shooting yourself in the foot is not in Proverbs as being godly so don’t play a blame game or a pity party.  Focus on the thanking God for the ones you have part!
 
The verse I wanted to bring up specifically was verse 30.  Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades.  The woman to be admired and praised is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God. Eliz. George quotes a christian speaker, Carole Mayhall, who says, “Daily I live with one fear- a healthy fear if there is such a thing.  It is that I will miss something God has for me in this life.  And it is mind-expanding to contemplate all that He wants me to have.  I don’t want to be robbed of even one of God’s riches by not taking time to let Him invade my life.  By not listening to what He is telling me.  By allowing the routine, pressing matters of my minutes to bankrupt me of time for the most exciting, most fulfilling relationship in life.”
 
I have always associated fear with anxiety- that it’s a take-over of my brain’s processes- that fear itself is to be avoided and, well, feared!  I haven’t really spent much time thinking about fear as a thing to be revered.  I really like how Carole put it- “I don’t want to be robbed of even one of God’s riches by not taking time to let Him invade my life.”  INVADE is such a strong word- another one that has always had a negative concept with me.  But she means, I believe, that she wants to let God so fill her with his joy, love, kindness, wisdom, etc that she is completely taken over by God and no longer lives upon her own will but only His.  It’s like a smore- We are the graham crackers and God is the chocolate and marshmallow.  When we let him get into our skin, he fills the space so much that He oozes from every opening.  We can’t help but let him overflow into our lives!! (and on our shirts, and on the sides of our faces, and sometimes even drip to our pant leg!) 
 
Be a Smore, Ladies!  You and God!
 
Dear Heavenly Father- Once again I am in awe at how much You speak to me through Eliz. George!  She is such a neat lady!  Today, I ask that you invade our lives, Lord!  Take over!  Put me in fear of You so that my every focus is on what You would have me to do, to be, to want.  I don’t wanna close my eyes.  Don’t wanna fall asleep,  cause I’d miss You and I don’t wanna miss a thing. . . . . .  Thank you Jesus!  -Amen
 
PS- yes, ladies- I quoted a rock ballad in a prayer- can you name that tune?  Name the artist? name the movie?  I honestly believe it is fitting.  If you know the movie, you will know that lead character was sooooo focused on the big picture that he gave it all up for the sake of the cause.  That’s the kind of thing God wants. . . . . .
 
Love to you all!
1 Comment

Filed under devotions

One response to “Smore’s

  1. Terri

    Artist: Aerosmith
    Song: “Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing” (I think?)
    Movie: Armagedon

Leave a Reply

