Cooking doesn’t have to be difficult or expensive

My niece called the other day.  She’s a newly-wed (aaaah- isn’t that special!!!) and trying to figure out what kinds of things that her husband will enjoy and what is simple and inexpensive.  I answered her questions the best I could and I did a lot of listening.  When I got off the phone I remembered more of my own days as a newlywed.  I would work so hard at preparing these wonderful meals and then find out that they were not what my husband was used to eating or that he didn’t like it.  My husband kept telling me to just make him plain food.  I kept thinking that it sounded totally boring and not “good enough” to make him just plain old food.  Then something happened.  . . . . . .our church was called upon to do an after funeral meal for a family in the church.  I needed to make a dessert for it but I really didn’t have much of anything on hand and I didn’t want the expense of another trip to town.  I had a box of jello and a container of cool whip and my husband insisted that it would be good enough- to send plain jello with cool whip on top.  So, I did just that.  Well, I was also a volunteer server at the meal and after everyone ate, many of them (as is tradition) came up to our kitchen serving window to thank us.   Time after time people stopped by and complimented the jello!!  Questions like, “who made that wonderful jello?” and comments like, “that jello just hit the spot” poured in through that window.  I was amazed that something so simple could be soooo impressive!!!  So often when we visit other people’s homes for a meal we are greeted with their best food cooked to the fanciest of their ability.  This is all fine and good but it is not expected that every meal in every home in America be fancy or the best cuts.  Family is about spending time together not about having to do the absolute perfect meal at every opportunity.  Just regular, plain food is good and good for you!

And that’s what it’s really all about.  Meals like a fried ham sandwich with a bowl of fruit sometimes just hit the spot.  Or what about plain grilled cheese with tomato soup?  Here’s some ideas of just plain good cooking that are served often in our home.  If you need recipes, just comment on my blog and I will be happy to add them for you at a later time!

  1. Crunchy or Soft Tacos made with beef, lettuce, cheese, and taco sauce.  Served with a bowl of fruit.
  2. Grilled Cheese Sandwiches and Tomato Soup (or Chicken Noodle)
  3. Ham and egg sandwiches on toast with fruit and raw veggies
  4. Macaroni and Cheese (Kraft really is the best box brand- homemade is always better though!)
  5. Sunday Dinner – Beef Roast with potatoes and carrots and onions (optional) baked in same pan in oven.
  6. Boiled Dinner- Smoked Sausage (cut in slices), potatoes, green beans, and onions boiled together until done
  7. BLT’s with a hearty side of cheese and a nice dessert of ice cream or pudding
  8. Chicken and Biscuits with Jello for dessert
  9. Potato Soup with Corn Muffins and raw veggies
  10. Chili
  11. Lunchmeat Sandwich served with lettuce, cheese, and mayo with chips and dill pickle
  12. Stew served with hearty bread and butter
  13. Egg Salad Sandwich with fresh veggies and an apple
  14. Hash
  15. Salmon patties with boiled potatoes and green beans
  16. Beef and noodles with broccoli cheese
  17. Creamed Beef, Tuna, or Eggs on Toast served with mashed potatoes and corn
  18. Hamburgers, potatoes, and baked beans
  19. Broiled pork chops with rice and peas
  20. Stir Fry
1 Comment

Filed under Home tips, Husband Taming Tips, Recipes

One response to “Cooking doesn’t have to be difficult or expensive

  1. You described Dusty perfectly. He always wants bland old fashioned food like his grandmother made him and I prefer flavor and variety. Since I homeschool and he frequently works 16s and doesn’t come home those days I either make the flavorful new recipes on nights he’s not here or for lunches.

Leave a Reply

