14. Turn off the ceiling fans

Our electric bill went up this last month despite moderate temperatures.  Typically, mid-summer goes up because of the air conditioning but we have not used it very often and I was upset to see that our bill went up anyway.  I said something to my husband and he is sure he knows why.  He said it’s the ceiling fans!  Each of the 4 bedrooms has one and we had a bad habit of leaving them on even when no one was in the room.  I’m sure someone knows the statistics of how much you save by not using them but I don’t.  I just believe my husband.  Give it a try and see if you notice a difference!

2 Comments

Filed under Money saving tips

2 responses to “14. Turn off the ceiling fans

  1. Suzie

    I like the ways to save under the other post. I didn’t know about the 3/4 full freezer.
    About ceiling fans, I thought those save money…if you use less AC. As the fans circulate the air. Is that not right?
    I found this site which gave some ways and assistance programs that help save bills, both from the gov’t and utility companies themselves. http://www.needhelppayingbills.com

  2. ruralmomof3

    Suzie is right that fans use less energy than AC and that they might help make your AC work less. What I am talking about here is areas of the home that are not used on a regular basis. Let me explain- We have a large home- old farm house. We have a full basement, main floor, 2nd floor w/ 4 bedrooms, and a full attic (a stand up and walk around in it kind of attic). We have duct work through the main and second floors for our central air and heat but our unit is in the basement. So the upstairs does not get the same optimal temperatures as the main floor. Because of this, it still gets hot up there in the summer and we had been running the fans nearly 24 hours a day. By fans, I mean a ceiling fan in each bedroom. We are only in the upstairs for sleeping and the boys play up there some but there really is no need to run the fans 24 hours a day in portions of the house that are not occupied for only maybe 10-12 hours a day. This goes along the same premise as keep your lights turned off in sections of the house that are not occupied all the time. Thanks Suzie!

Leave a Reply

