When you are worried. . . . .PRAY!!

Thanks to Elizabeth George’s book, A Woman’s Call to Prayer, I have a new song in my heart today.  I’ve had a lot going through my mind lately, a lot going into my mind lately and just stopping traffic in the bottle neck of worry, and not much going out of town.  (if you know what I mean)  I tried to read my Bible but not much was making sense so I turned my chair around and looked at my bookcase.  My eyes found Elizabeth’s book and I realized by the bookmark in it that I had started this book but never finished it.  The chapter my marker was ready for me to read was titled, When you are worried, Pray. 

As I was skimming through it (because I want God’s answers to be insantaneous, you know.  They should just pop out. . . . lol), the first scripture reference given was to Philippians 4:6-7:  Be anxious in nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds throught Christ Jesus.

Well, wowzers!!!  There you have it folks.  God said not to worry!  God said to give it to him and then thank him, in advance, for taking care of it!!  God said once we do that he will fill us with peace (our anxiety will leave) and protect our hearts and minds!!

And just in case that isn’t enough reason not to worry but to pray instead, Elizabeth has a list at the end of the chapter titled, Side Effects of Worrying.  They are:

  1. Self- Doubt
  2. Mediocrity
  3. Fright
  4. No Spark
  5. No Creativity
  6. Improper Shaping (we are what we think)
  7. Hazy Results (worried goals = worried results)
  8. Bad Habits
  9. Physical Ailments
  10. Wasted Time

Well, Shivver me timbers- who wants to have all that stuff?!  I pray that those of you who read this will stop right where you are at, the moment you read this, and say a prayer.  Apologize to God for not allowing him to do his job and trying to do his job for him.  Then simply say, I am giving this problem/worry back to you to handle.  Thank you!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

